:: Main Menu
:: Chess...
:: Who's Online
5 user(s) are online (3 user(s) are browsing News)

Members: 0
Guests: 5

:: Useful links
:: Random news

Michael Adams wins 5-th Staunton Memorial

As is only appropriate in a tournament dedicated to the memory one of England's greatest players, the 2007 Staunton Memorial tournament ended in a victory for another British chess all time great, Michael Adams. In the final round, he drew with Black against Ivan Sokolov, to reach an untouchable 8.5/11. Sokolov finished a point behind, where he was joined by Loek van Wely, who drew with Jon Speelman in the final round. Gawain Jones completed an outstanding tournament by capitalising on an opening blunder by Jan Timman, to finish on 6.5, in the company of Jan Smeets and Jan Werle, the two young Dutch GMs.

Final standings:

Michael Adams  	gm	ENG	2724	8.5
Ivan Sokolov gm NED 2666 7.5
Loek Van Wely gm NED 2679 7.5
Gawain Jones gm ENG 2526 6.5
Jan Werle gm NED 2552 6.5
Jan Smeets gm NED 2538 6.5
Erwin L'Ami gm NED 2598 5
Jan Timman gm NED 2560 5
Peter Wells gm ENG 2517 4
Jonathan Speelman gm ENG 2511 3.5
Colin McNab gm ENG 2416 3
Jovanka Houska wgm ENG 2401 2.5

Interesting links:
1st Howard Staunton Memorial Tournament 2003
2nd Howard Staunton Memorial Tournament 2004
3rd Howard Staunton Memorial Tournament 2005
4th Howard Staunton Memorial Tournament 2006

Official 5-th Staunton Memorial Tournament 2007 Web-Site
(1766 reads)

Other articles
2021/12/10 - Magnus Carlsen has defended his world chess championship title 2021
2021/12/3 - The World Champion Magnus Carlsen wins game 6 against Ian Nepomniachtchi
2021/11/25 - WCC 2021 in Dubai: Magnus Carlsen (NOR) vs Ian Nepomniachtchi (RUS) for the chess championship title
2020/5/3 - Carlsen defeated Nakamura to win the 1st Magnus Carlsen Invitational 2020 online chess super-GM tournament
2020/4/30 - Carlsen, Caruana, Nakamura and Ding on semifinal - Carlsen invitational 2020
2020/4/2 - Magnus Carlsen invites top chess players in an online chess super-tournament, starting April 18, 2020
2018/11/29 - Magnus Carlsen defeated Fabiano Caruana (USA) to retain World Chess Championship title (classical chess)
2018/11/12 - Magnus Carlsen (NOR) vs Fabiano Caruana (USA) in World Chess Championship title match
2018/3/28 - Grenke Chess Open 2018 and Grenke Chess Classic
2017/10/27 - Chess news and Blindfold Chess training (trainer) section

The comments are owned by the poster. We aren't responsible for their content.
Poster Thread
Add this page to social bookmarks
Add to: Del.icio.us Add to: Reddit Add to: Simpy Add to: StumbleUpon Add to: Slashdot Add to: Netscape Add to: Furl Add to: Technorati Add to: Newsvine Add to: magnolia Add to: Netvouz Add to: Digg
Top News
Top Chess videos on En.ChessFish.com
:: Translate by Google
:: Search