:: Main Menu
:: Chess...
:: Who's Online
8 user(s) are online (8 user(s) are browsing News)

Members: 0
Guests: 8

:: Useful links
:: Random news

Topalov Won The Chess Grand Slam 2008 Final

Bulgarian GM Veselin Topalov won The Chess Grand Slam 2008 Final (whitch took place in Bilbao 1st-13th September 2008). There were 6 participants - The first qualifiers were the winners of Corus 2008, Morelia - Linares 2008, and Mtel Masters 2008 - GM Levon Aronian, GM Viswanathan Anand, and GM Vassily Ivanchuk. Then the 2nd place players also qualified GM Magnus Carlsen and GM Veselin Topalov and finally the best all-round player left Teimour Radjabov.

Three points for a win and one for a draw rules are in effect. According "The Sofian rule", Players were not allowed to agree draw without arbiter's permission. In case both players request it to him, the arbiter will make his decision after consulting with a technical assistant.
Grand Slam Final Bilbao. Final Round 10 saw Veselin Topalov confirmed clear first place when he beat Vassily Ivanchuk in the final round. Topalov won the most games and lost the least, for a dominant performance. Carlsen and Aronian tied for second place after Aronian blew a great position and lost against Radjabov. Carlsen took second by virtue of beating Aronian twice in the competetion (better head to head). This win for Radjabov also had the effect of relegating world champion Viswanathan Anand to dead last. Final standings...

Chess Grand Slam 2008 Final - Final standings:
NameGames Win Draw Loss POINTS
Véselin Topálov 1045117
Magnus Carlsen 1034313
Levon Aronián 1034313
Vasili Ivanchuk 1026212
Teimur Radyábov 1017210
Viswanathan Anand 100828
(1285 reads)

Other articles
2021/12/10 - Magnus Carlsen has defended his world chess championship title 2021
2021/12/3 - The World Champion Magnus Carlsen wins game 6 against Ian Nepomniachtchi
2021/11/25 - WCC 2021 in Dubai: Magnus Carlsen (NOR) vs Ian Nepomniachtchi (RUS) for the chess championship title
2020/5/3 - Carlsen defeated Nakamura to win the 1st Magnus Carlsen Invitational 2020 online chess super-GM tournament
2020/4/30 - Carlsen, Caruana, Nakamura and Ding on semifinal - Carlsen invitational 2020
2020/4/2 - Magnus Carlsen invites top chess players in an online chess super-tournament, starting April 18, 2020
2018/11/29 - Magnus Carlsen defeated Fabiano Caruana (USA) to retain World Chess Championship title (classical chess)
2018/11/12 - Magnus Carlsen (NOR) vs Fabiano Caruana (USA) in World Chess Championship title match
2018/3/28 - Grenke Chess Open 2018 and Grenke Chess Classic
2017/10/27 - Chess news and Blindfold Chess training (trainer) section

The comments are owned by the poster. We aren't responsible for their content.
Poster Thread
Add this page to social bookmarks
Add to: Del.icio.us Add to: Reddit Add to: Simpy Add to: StumbleUpon Add to: Slashdot Add to: Netscape Add to: Furl Add to: Technorati Add to: Newsvine Add to: magnolia Add to: Netvouz Add to: Digg
Top News
Top Chess videos on En.ChessFish.com
Random videos
Queen's Gambit 9 (By Garry Kasparov)
(Mon, 03-Mar-2008)
Queen's Gambit 9 (By Garry Kasparov)
Kings and Pawns
(Sun, 16-Mar-2008)
I can play everything...
(Mon, 03-Mar-2008)
I can play everything...
:: Translate by Google
:: Search